Three national healthcare leaders received the Dream, Discover and Deliver Awards respectively at the College of Nursing & Health Innovations annual awards program attended by more than 230 in November in Phoenix. The programs purposes are to recognize healthcare leaders significant accomplishments and inspire future leaders.

The 2010 honorees and their individual awards were:

Dream Award - Captain William G. Wood

Discover Award - William Haskell, PhD

Deliver Award - Timothy Porter-OGrady, DM, EdD, ScD (h), FAAN

Captain Wood, RN, MSN, FNP and recipient of the Dream Award, has fulfilled many diverse career dreams in his more than 30 years of extensive public health experience in administration and direct healthcare delivery. His broad professional accomplishments and education have focused on research, administration, education, epidemiology, special minority populations, budget, grants management, program planning/evaluation, public health, hospital/ambulatory care nursing, advance practice nursing, and regulatory science. His accomplishments in regulatory science include device and drug evaluation, drug marketing advertising, and quality improvement/customer service.

He currently serves as the Director of the FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research Academic Collaboration Program that was founded by the agency in 2009 to advance scientific opportunities and careers in the field of Regulatory Science by collaborating with academia to co-design innovative regulatory science curricula that meet the ever-changing needs of the FDA, sister agencies, and regulated industries to develop and promote products that are safe and effective to protect the public health of the nation.

Other positions that Capt. Wood has held in his career include: Director for Scientific and Program Operations, Office of AIDS Research, Office of the Director, National Institutes of Health; Director, Centers of Excellence for HIV Disease, Oncology and Diabetes, Indian Health Service; and Associate Director, Phoenix Indian Medical Center, Indian Health Service.

William L. Haskell, PhD, who received the Discover Award, is Professor of Medicine (active emeritus) in the Stanford Prevention Research Center and the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine at Stanford University. His doctoral training was in human applied physiology with postdoctoral training in chronic disease epidemiology. He has been a member of the Stanford Medical School faculty for the past 38 years with primary interests in applied and clinical research in preventive cardiology, cardiac rehabilitation, physical activity assessment and successful aging. Dr. Haskells journey of discovery has included serving as an investigator on numerous single and multi-center clinical trials, which have investigated chronic disease prevention or management. Of particular interest to him has been the role of habitual physical activity and related health behaviors in metabolic and hemodynamic factors contributing to the development of atherothrombotic vascular disease.

He has served on numerous national and international panels responsible for developing guidelines for physical activity and public health, preventive cardiology and cardiac rehabilitation. Recently, he was chair of the Physical Activity Guidelines Advisory Committee for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. This Committee documented the scientific basis for the 2008 Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans. Since 2008, Dr. Haskell has been a scientific advisor to the World Health Organization for the development of WHO Global Recommendations on Physical Activity and Health.

Tim Porter-OGrady, DM, EdD, ScD (h), FAAN received the Deliver Award. He has been involved in healthcare for 40 years and has held roles from staff nurse to senior executive in a variety of settings. Porter-OGrady is currently senior partner of an international healthcare consulting firm in Atlanta specializing in health futures, organizational innovation, conflict and change, as well as complex health service delivery models. He is noted for his work on shared governance models, clinical leadership, conflict, innovation, complex systems, and health futures. As associate professor and leadership scholar for the interdisciplinary Master of Health Innovation and PhD in Nursing & Healthcare Innovation programs for the ASU College of Nursing & Health Innovation, Porter-OGrady also is visiting Professor in the hybrid DNP Program at University of Maryland and is an adjunct professor at Lakehead University, School of Public Health, Ontario, Canada.

Dr. Porter-OGrady has published extensively in healthcare with more than 175 professional journal articles and 21 books, and is a seven-time winner of the American Journal of Nursing Healthcare Book of the Year Award. He has consulted internationally with over 500 institutions and has lectured in more than 1,000 settings internationally. He has held a number of offices in professional associations and national and community boards such as the vice chair of the governing board of Catholic Health East, governor with Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), president of AID Atlanta, and the STTI Foundation, among others.

The name of the awards program originated from the colleges tagline and guides its culture in how faculty, staff and student act and expect from each other. The scope of the awards encompasses professionals in all health disciplines who have set high standards and made major accomplishments that have positively impacted their professions. Honorees usually have established connections to Arizona and the college.

Each award recipient received a tear-drop shaped, hand blown glass sculpture on engraved marble bases from Dean Bernadette Melnyk. A roundtable discussion on current health and healthcare issues among the award winners and Dean Melnyk followed the award presentations.